Swarms, and what the public needs to know

A swarm of honeybees is a wonderful sight to behold. It is the natural reproduction of a whole colony. Swarms are not dangerous or aggressive if simply left alone. They have no interest in you.

Swarm “high season” in Baltimore County is April & May. Swarms can happen at other times, but more rarely.

Honeybees when swarming are relatively docile, and have no interest in you. They have no hive or young to protect, and are well fed before they leave the hive. So the first advise: Relax a bit. Move in a relaxed way, or sit and watch. They may be flying around, but they are not after you.

A swarm will first land fairly close to the colony from which it left, often only 25-100 yds. If that colony is managed by a local beekeeper, s/he would probably  like to collect the swarm. Ask around. Get to know your neighbors. if there is a beekeeper in your neighborhood, you may eventually have a swarm visit.

What to know before you call:

The address and contact phone number for the swarm location. Your contact information if different.

A clear description of where the swarm is. How high, in what specific location, if there are barriers to entry (fences, locks, dogs, etc), and how long the swarm has been there, if you know.

Who to call if you have a swarm:

The following is a list of CMBA beekeepers who collect swarms.  For best results, you may wish to contact someone in your zip code or an adjacent zip code.

CMBA VOLUNTEER SWARM CATCHERS

ZIP NAME EMAIL PHONE
17349 Bonnie Raindrop bonnieraindrop@gmail.com 410-404-3808
20653 Mark Sylvain mark.sylvain@bellsouth.net 904-207-8171
21022 Howard Schindler hschindler@stpaulsschool.org 410-821-3031
21030 Gary Bush gbush@aol.com 410-667-6871
21030 Gerhert Hauptman-Diaz ghauptman@gmail.com  
21042 Rebecca Chojnacki rac1124@gmail.com 715-220-9323
21047 Charles Thomas sawmillcharlie@gmail.com 410-937-3069
21047 Susan Warner swarner@ccbcmd.edu 443-840-2618
21057 Anthony Frederick Anthony.frederick@comcast.net 443-791-7407
21057 Lawrence Daniels renzo.daniele@yahoo.com 410-852-5269
21057 Robert Antreasian rantreasian@gmail.com 443-800-2477
21071 Jeff Nelson Jwnelson00@verizon.net 410-833-9535
21078 Barbara Gelder gelderfarm@gmail.com 410-734-0238
21084 Sondra Novo Sondra1205@gmail.com 410-218-0673
21090 Jeffrey Rosshirt jmrosshirt@gmail.com 410-207-6348
21093 Bryan Bender swarm.baltimore@gmail.com 443-909-6803
21093 Jody Johnson johnsonjody05@gmail.com 443-841-4644
21093 Timothy Kaufman tsk680@yahoo.com 410-227-9227
21102 Steve McDaniel mail@mcdanielphotography.com 443-507-6367
21111 Carin Celebuski carinceleb@gmail.com 301-437-5301
21111 Cathy Tipper cathy@futureharvestcasa.org 410-218-3620
21111 Sally Cocks   410-472-0959
21111 Tre Bart exometrics@gmail.com 410-979-0888
21114 Ashley Bradley tegerlil@hotmail.com 423-734-4508
21117 Dave Yousem dyousem1@jhu.edu 410-902-8764
21117 Shari Swisher ianandshari@verizon.net 443-739-6356
21120 Craig McCullough clarmc@comcast.net 410-241-3475
21131 Brad Moore B55R57Moore@verizon.net 410-527-0129
21131 Jeff Jobe jobebud@msn.com 443-765-4333
21131 Kenneth Thompson Kdt3@verizon.net 410-274-3864
21131 Mike Spencer pamspencer@verizon.net 410-785-3389
21131 Pam Spencer mhspencer@verizon.net 410-785-3389
21131 Robert Wong rpwong@yahoo.com 443-527-1938
21131 Victor Filator Natavicf@aol.com 410-971-9074
21136 Timothee Friesen meyega@yahoo.com 443-803-3132
21152 Bonny Wright Bw55@me.com 410-218-2341
21152 John Hocheder jhocheder@yahoo.com 410-771-4521
21152 Lindsay Barranco lbarranco@comcast.net 410-570-1132
21152 Robert Stanhope stanhopes@verizon.net 410-472-9269
21155 Cynthia Raspi cindy.raspi@gmail.com 410-374-8122
21161 Dennis LeCompte Dendodge06@comcast.net 443-491-3112
21161 Fedellia Hopkins fedellia@verizon.net 410-357-9203
21161 Lloyd Snyder lrsnyder@zoominternet.net 410-329-6671
21204 Carol Currotto carolcurrotto@gmail.com 443-465-9792
21204 Kate Jacyszyn kjacyszyn@gmail.com 804-432-6493
21204 Lisa Reichenbach reichenbach@kennedykrieger.org 410-821-8458
21204 Mary Gamper Gamper.mary@gmail.com 410-337-2290
21204 Shannon Putman shannonputman05@gmail.com 443-895-4564
21206 Emma Novashinski emmanovashinski@gmail.com 443-831-2010
21207 Christopher Hart chartjac@aol.com 410-448-0691
21209 Jude Lombardi jlombardi@jlombardi.net 410-664-5151
21210 David Klassen klassendk@gmail.com 804-971-1994
21210 Devra Kitterman devra.kitterman@gmail.com 443-250-7184
21210 Samuel Mace svmace@aol.com 410-292-3688
21210 Tim Askew taskew@gmail.com 410-916-8100
21211 Cynthia Bearer cbearer@peds.umaryland.edu 410-404-1372
21211 Matthew Masaschi Matt.masaschi@gmail.com 410-852-2629
21212 Carl Buhlman bulhmanc@hotmail.com 443-896-8488
21212 Caroline Buhlman buhlmanc@maryvale.com 443-465-2053
21212 Charlie Dorsey dancingcbd@aol.com 410-979-1391
21212 Gordon Kaufman glk116@earthlink.net 410-494-8758
21212 Jane Schaffer jbschaffer@cavtel.net 443-540-8307
21213 Lauren Voos studio@ekisticus.com 410-963-2375
21214 Louise Wright louiserw@gmail.com 410-254-3174
21218 Shannon Snow shannon.e.snow@gmail.com 410-916-3671
21221 Albert Kirchmayr tuscany307@gmail.com 410-561-7705
21221 James Roberts jimsnapshot@comcast.net 410-391-5709
21228 Nate Reid thehoneybeeguy@gmail.com 443-904-7096
21229 Bill Castro Billmimi94@comcast.net 303-877-4617
21229 Joel Elder-Cooper jmeldercooper@gmail.com 410-841-4732
21231 Tanvi Avasthi tanvi.avasthi@gmail.com  
21236 William Stevanus frankstevanus@yahoo.com 410-657-7608
21237 Jerry Fischer jerelaf@verizon.net 443-791-9263
21286 Jocelyn Rehmeyer Jocelynreh@gmail.com 410-825-5732
21286 Kevin Burroughs kevin.Burroughs@sbdinc.com 443-677-2972
21286 Louise Sparshatt loopyspar@gmail.com 732-768-5359
21286 Susan Brennan Susanbrennan721@verizon.net 410-825-3869

 

If you can’t reach anyone from the list above, call 911. They maintain a list of beekeepers who may be interested in coming to collect the swarm. Let the 911 operator know you’d like to talk to the supervisor about the list of beekeepers available. It will be up to you to call the beekeeper. There is no legal requirement s/he comes to remove the swarm.

You can also call the MD State Apiarist. The office phone is 410-841-5920, mobile is 410-562-3464.