CMBA member meetings are normally the first Tuesday of each month at Oregon Ridge Nature Center, Shawan Rd. Cockeysville, MD. Special events will be announced on the Home page. Board meetings are normally the third Monday at OR. Short Course times and dates as shown below, if current. Cancellations follow the Baltimore Co. school system.

Member & Board Meetings start at 7:00PM, so come early for visiting. From May-September, there will be open-hive demos in the meadow at OR for at least half an hour before meeting time, weather allowing. Nominal starting time for open hives: 6PM +/-

2015-2016 General Meeting Schedule/Speakers

Date Topic Speaker
Saturday, December 5, 2015 Members Meeting Potluck Holiday Dinner – 6 to 9 PM, Elections, 3rd Annual Best Worst Bee Story,
2015. If you’d like to help with set-up and/or clean-up, please email
hospitality”at” We can use all the help we can get!
Also, please remember to bring a dish and a door prize.
Monday, December 21, 2015 Board Meeting  (Meeting only if needed.)
Tuesday, January 5, 2016 Members Meeting Bill Castro, owner of Bee Friendly Apiary, talks to us about keeping Russian
honey bees + shrub and tree plantings suitable for them in the Baltimore area.
Monday, January 18, 2016 Board Meeting
Tuesday, February 2, 2016 Members Meeting Dr. April Boulton, an entomologist at Hood College, investigated colony loss and the
relationship between hive location and surrounding vegetation types. (tentative)
Monday, February 15, 2016 Board Meeting
Tuesday, March 1, 2016 Members Meeting Alison Gillespie, author of Hives in the City, talks about her book and the
amazing world of urban bees. (tentative)
Monday, March 21, 2016 Board Meeting
Tuesday, April 5, 2016 Members Meeting Bill Sprenkle, of Log Cabin Bee Farm, brings to us his rich knowledge on hive
genetics, queen rearing, and re-queening. (tentative)
Monday, April 18, 2016 Board Meeting
Tuesday, May 3, 2016 Members Meeting Joe Lewis, of Susquehanna Beekeepers on methods of making spilts. (tentative)
Monday, May 16, 2016 Board Meeting Last board meeting of the spring. Note: Board does not meet June-August
except on ad hoc basis as needed.
Tuesday, June 7, 2016 Members Meeting Karen Rennich gives us the analysis on the latest results from the
Bee Informed Partnership. (tentative)
Tuesday, July 5, 2016 Members Meeting Frank Linton speaks to us about his book, “The Observation Hive”, and what we can learn from having a window on the world of the hive. (tentative)